Experiments in Webdesign-Creating WordPress Pages without Tabs

I was thinking there may come a day when I want to post pages of story chapters and excerpts to advertise my writing on this site.  Most times a new tab on the header tool bar is created every time you create a new page in WordPress, and I was worried this would create a cluttered look on the menu bar.

I experimented and found out there is a way to keep a page off the header.

If you assign it a parent page it will become part of the drop down menu on the parent page’s tab without being a part of the main menu.

I also know how to use a page as an index page with links to subpages and not have it listed on the main menu or become part of a drop down menu.

You can look at the results on the experiment page link on the Links page.

This opens up new webdesign options for this site. Maybe I’ll create a tutorial explaining this if anyone’s interested.

26 thoughts on “Experiments in Webdesign-Creating WordPress Pages without Tabs

    • The next post on this blog is the tutorial. It is written in steps since I worry about taking up my free space on WordPress with too many pictures. Maybe print it out and have it on hand when you’ve got your WordPress dashboard open.

      Like

  1. It is perfect time to make some plans for the future and it is time to be happy.
    I’ve read this post and if I could I desire to suggest you
    few interesting things or advice. Perhaps you could write next articles
    referring to this article. I desire to read more things about it!

    Like

  2. Greetings! Very useful advice in this particular
    article! It’s the little changes which will make the most significant changes.
    Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  3. Please let me knoԝ iff you’re looking ffor a article writer
    fоr yoᥙr site. You һave some гeally great articles and Ӏ tһink Ⅰ woud be ɑ good asset.
    If you ever want to takе somе of the lad off,I’dabsolutely love tο wгite sοme articles fօr your blog in exchange
    fоr а link back to mine. Plеase send me an email if interested.
    Ꮇany tҺanks!

    Like

  4. Hаving read tһіs I believed it was very enlightening.
    I appreciate yoս tɑking the time аnd energy to pᥙt this informative article
    toɡether. I once again find myseⅼf personally spending ɑ lot of time
    both reading and postibg comments. Bᥙt so what, it was stiⅼl worth it!

    Like

  5. Does your site have a contact page? I’m having problems locating it but, I’d like to send you
    an e-mail. I’ve got some suggestions for your blog you might be interested in hearing.

    Either way, great website and I look forward to seeing it improve over time. http://bing.net

    Like

  6. Hello! I’ve been following your website for
    a long time now and finally got the bravery to go ahead and
    give you a shout out from Huffman Texas! Just wanted to tell you keep up the great work!

    Like

  7. Hello there, I found your blog by way of Google at the same
    time as searching for a related matter, your website came up, it seems good.
    I’ve bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.
    Hi there, just became alert to your weblog thru Google,
    and located that it is truly informative. I am gonna watch
    out for brussels. I’ll appreciate in the event you proceed this in future.

    Many other people shall be benefited from your writing.
    Cheers! http://www.diplycrazy.com/

    Like

Leave a Reply

