Recommended Book: The Chicago Manual of Style, 16th Edition

I read through Publishing for Beginners: What First-Time Authors Need to Know (Kindle Edition) by Lourdes Venard and it lead me to another reference book purchase. She stated that The Chicago Manual of Style is used by the publishers of fiction writing to edit their author’s manuscripts and I thought it best to get my own copy of the must current edition. I received it this week and am doing my best to plug away at it. I don’t think I’ll ever have it memorized but I believe I’ll get a good overview of editing practices and will know when to refer it on an as needed basis.

My research says that I shouldn’t try to edit myself since writers are blind to their own common flaws and errors but I think things will be better if I make my manuscripts as clean as possible.

Leave a Reply

