Inspiration for Science Fiction

I’ve started to use trending stories as a means to gather worldbuilding materials for science fiction stories I wish to write. It’s easier to see the stories as inspiration instead of research, but the effect should be new stories from me either way.

Some of my findings are the basis of worldbuilding details I want to add to future stories. Others are acting in my mind for story prompts I’d like to develop in the future.

World building Details

Researchers have designed a simple fusion reactor that could be running in 10 years.

3D-printed graphene ink could lead to longer-lasting, more-efficient batteries

Inflatable ‘space elevator’ invented by scientists

Warp speed travel is theoretically possible, says astrophysicist

Inflatable Habitats: From the Space Station to the Moon and Mars?

Technology has created more jobs than it has destroyed, says 140 years of data

How Traveling to Deep Space In Cryogenic Sleep Could Actually Work

Inside Stephen Hawking’s Voice Software, Now Available For Free

Story Prompts

Artificial Intelligence, Legal Responsibility And Civil Rights

Darknet: The web’s black market for goods and ideas

I’m not interested in writing hard science fiction, but I want my soft science fiction stories to be well thought out and plausible. I will see what I produce with the information from these articles.

Leave a Reply

