I’m in the Same Book as Edith Wharton!

I received two contributor’s copies of Chilling Ghost Stories in the mail yesterday so I can finally see myself in the same book as Edith Wharton. It has my story “The Psychic Fair” in there. It’s a book with a foil cover and quality construction.

There’s new and classic ghost stories in the volume so you can see how the genre has developed over the decades.

I love Edith’s work, but I wonder if she’d be too subtle to be published nowadays? She has a fine literary quality, but I’m not sure ghost stories are an accepted part of modern literary writing. I think the best modern classificiation for her ghost stories is “psychological horror.” Ghosts worked on her neurosis though she didn’t believe in the supernatural.

Leave a Reply

